Saving Green by Meal Planning

Meal Plan Photo

Click Here for a Shopping List for the Following Recipes

This week’s menu has 2 cabbage dishes because my winter CSA has been blessing us with cabbage.  I will actually be using a Napa cabbage in the pasta dish. 2 of the recipes are made in the slow cooker and the others require less than 45 minutes to cook

Be sure to check out my Shopping List PDF.  I organize my list on a chart by recipe Why?  Well, sometimes I decide that I don’t want to make a recipe or I can’t find a main ingredient and by listing them by the recipe I avoid buying items that I don’t need.  The list is also to my blog reader’s advantage because if you don’t like some of recipes I use you can plug in your own in recipe in that spot.

Our meal planning starts on Tuesdays because store sales here run Wed. through Tues. The ads for the next week come out on Mondays. So I plan on Mondays, and shop on Tuesdays. By waiting until the end of the sale I can see what is on sale the following week so I don’t over pay on things I am buying today. Also, I find that stores have generally restocked sale items that often get picked over at the start of a sale.

Tuesday (today): Beef Stew
Wednesday: Penne with Cabbage from the September 2013 issue of Everyday with Rachael Ray
Thursday: Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Slaw.  Check out the slaw recipes I have 3 different types using celery, celery root (celeriac) or cabbage.
Friday: Go out to eat!
Saturday: Butternut Squash Risotto from the December 2013 issue of Family Circle.  Have it with a spinach salad.  Just make sure to save a cup of spinach for the stuffed squash on Monday.
Sunday: Middle Eastern Chicken and Lentils
Monday: Sausage Stuffed Squash

2 thoughts on “Saving Green by Meal Planning

  1. I think it is a very good idea to make a menu for a whole week in order to have not too much food to trow away, a pity that in the shops you always have to buy veggetables in a big sack, if I want only 2 carrots I would love it to be possible, carrots are not nice after having spent some time in the freezer !

    • Exactly! Fortunately carrots (and most other vegetables) do last about a week in the refrigerator. My menu plan only includes dinner so leftover carrots from a 1 pound bag can be easily used for snacks and lunches throughout the week. Also, during my meal planning I am cognizant of vegetable package sizes and try to use the whole package in the meal plan. This week one of the recipes calls for “baby carrots” and another says “4 carrots”. I will only buy a 1 pound bag of carrots and use half for each recipe. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

