How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

I love carving pumpkins, I have done it every October for as long as I can remember.  We usually saved the seeds and tried roasting them but they never tasted right; usually they were soggy or not salty enough.  It was not until  we visited a pumpkin farm and I was given this recipe. I almost threw the recipe away because I have tried so many ways to roast pumpkin seeds with such lackluster results, that I just thought it wasn’t worth the bother.  I am so happy I tried it and I won’t use any other.  These are easy, guaranteed, and taste SO GOOD!

  1. Scoop out pumpkin seeds.
  2. Rinse seeds and let them in a dry in a single layer overnight on a towel.
  3. Preheat oven to 350°.
  4. In a medium bowl, stir together:

    • 2 cups seeds
    • 2 Tablespoons olive or canola oil
    • 1 teaspoon salt
    • 1 teaspoon garlic or onion powder (I like both so I add ½ teaspoon of each).
  5. Spread seeds on a rimmed baking sheet and bake at 350° for 20 minutes.  Stir and re-spread half way through baking.  Seeds are done when they are a nice golden brown color.
  6. Allow to cool.
  7. Store or give away in jars 🙂

Leave a Reply

