Friday Favorites

Books are the topic of my Green Friday Favorites this week:

The Edible Front Yard by Ivette Soler

A HUGE thank you to Jessie : Improved I won this book on her blog and I received it on Wednesday.  I have only had a chance to quickly browse through it but it appears as though it is going to be a valuable asset to my reference library.  Please stop by and visit her blog she has a valuable blog! Click here to visit Jessie : Improved

Pay Dirt by John Tullock

“In my experience, the most capable gardeners all seem to share only one trait: extraordinary powers of observation.  They are in touch with their gardens on all sensory channels.  The smell of the warming earth, the trill of a woodpecker, the elegant symmetry of a dicenta blossom, the wriggling of and earthworm scooped up in a handful of soil–” John Tullock in Pay Dirt.  This book has captivated my attention for the past week.  If you have even the slightest inkling that you want to enter into the world of making a profit from your land; read this book!  Pay Dirt has given me insight and interest in the world of selling plants and crops for a profit.  From selling flowers from your cutting garden to selling 4 tons of tomatoes a week to a Kroger supermarket this book has you covered.  John Tullock helps you “look in the mirror” and examine yourself and your assets to find your selling niche.  He covers how to build a business plan, financial plan and even a garden plan to help you succeed in the your gardening business.  I highly recommend!

Lasagna Gardening by Patricia Lanza

Coming Soon to Attempting Green: a “How To” post on Lasagna Gardening aka sheet mulching thanks to resources from this book.  A very easy read that helps you get started right away on building great soil.  Tip: Start saving your newspapers, cardboard, and yard waste and get the compost pile going NOW!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

  1. I need to pick up that “PayDirt” one! My daughter and I are planning to make our first foray into sales at farmer’s markets this year and we’re both pretty excited. The idea of making a little money on what we grow has her excited to be out in the garden with me.

    Newspapers have been a huge timesaver for my garden. I use them around every plant, along every row and on paths to keep weeds nonexistent. I write for a newspaper, so I get as many as I want for free. Most newspapers (especially smaller town papers) will happily hand over stacks of papers headed for recycling if you just ask. Also, schools around here have newspaper recycling programs and I’ve found they also have no issues with giving up stacks of papers if you tell them what you want them for. It’s all recycling, right?

Leave a Reply

