Barely Over the Border Fajitas

It has been a week or so since I have posted some recipes. I have been more focused on getting the garden started than cooking. This week the garden is mostly on auto-pilot. Right now I have no new exciting “how-to” projects to post, so I figure I better get back to the kitchen…

I am a non-smoker but in 2003 I was in a bar and smoking a cigarette I had bummed off someone. A girl came up to me and asked if I would participate in a survey. Being a little tipsy I said, “ABSOLUTELY!” She asked me several questions about my smoking habits. At the end of the survey she told me if I gave her my name and address I would receive some free gifts for participating. Again being tipsy I gave her my name and address. (I was also in a bar in Rhode Island and I lived in Indiana at the time so I wasn’t too concerned about her going to my house.) She gave me a lighter, said “thanks” and I figured that was all I would hear from her. About a month later I received a deck of cards from Marlboro with some coupons and a survey. It said if I filled out the survey I would receive some more coupons and another free gift. Liking free things, I threw away the coupons (I really am not a smoker) and answered the survey. Next, I received a cookbook titled “Marlboro Cook Like a Man Cookbook”. This cookbook is AWESOME! I think this is the only time smoking actually produced something positive for me.

Buy this if you ever find it at a garage or used book sale.

Since this cookbook had such limited availability and grilling season is starting I want to share some of these recipes. Each day this week I will be posting my favorites from the book. I hope you enjoy them as much as we do. Happy Grilling!

Barely Over the Border Fajitas

Ingredients:
For Marinade:
2 pounds flank steak
½ cup balsamic vinegar
⅓ cup olive oil
⅓ cup tequila or lemon juice
1 lime, juiced
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 tsp. chipotle pepper powder or chili powder
1 tsp. onion powder
1 tsp. salt
For Serving:
Flour tortillas
Grilled onions and peppers
Pico de gallo
Preparation:
1. Place steak in bag. Mix marinade ingredients in a small bowl. Pour over steak and seal bag. Refrigerate at least 1 hour or overnight.
2. Preheat grill to medium high. Remove steak from bag; grill 8-10 minutes per side or until it reaches a little less than your preferred doneness. Remove and let rest 5 minutes; slice into strips.
3. Serve with floured tortillas, grilled onions and peppers, salsa, and cheese.

From: “Marlboro Cook Like A Man Cookbook”. In the back of the book there are names of those who contributed to the cookbook but the names are not directly linked to the recipes. 2004 Philip Morris.

Leave a Reply

