Haphazard Butterfly & Hummingbird Garden

Today I was inspired to try something I have not tried before.  I have lots of seeds.  Sometimes I don’t know what to do with them after I have planted.  I don’t want to throw them away, but yet I have planted what I need, so I just store them away for the next year.  Other seeds people have given me and they are seeds I don’t want to use, but again I can’t bring myself to toss them.  Today I figured out how to use a few of them.

I have mentioned before that I am starting from scratch with gardens at our house.  We had a few bushes around the house when we moved in and a little landscaping was done around the front.  Last fall I tore out these ugly prickly bushes that were occupying the south east corner of the house.  It is sheltered by the wind and right now is receiving about 6 hours of sun from 7 am to 1 pm.  I have gone back and forth in my mind about what to do with it: cold frames, strawberries or raspberries, compost bins, etc…  Today I made up my mind and decided on a Butterfly and Hummingbird garden.

I had these seeds sitting around in my seed bin:

These seeds were all given to me.

The seeds are: Parsley, Verbena, Snapdragons, Bee Balm, Coral Bells, and a mix that normally I wouldn’t use for fear of invasive species but I want to get the soil broken up and according to the list none of them appear to be too invasive.

All of them say to plant 4-6 weeks before last frost and where I am in Cleveland it is 6 weeks to the last frost date. Also most of them are surface sow seeds.

I loosened up the clay a little bit and then dumped the potting mix from last year’s self watering containers over the top and spread the seeds.

Not pretty now but maybe in a few months it will transform.

In the center, I spread the mixed seeds.  On the left I spread the snapdragons in a 2’x2′ square.  On the right in 3 separate 1’x1′ squares I planted verbena, bee balm and coral bells. These 3 are perennials and I thought if they do well I could transplant them at some point. Along the front I planted the parsley.

I have some leftover dill and borage seeds as well and as it gets closer to the last frost date I will throw some those in the mix.  Until then I am praying for an amazing flower bed.

3 thoughts on “Haphazard Butterfly & Hummingbird Garden

  1. I have an island that I use for a similar purpose it is kind of my seed catchall….not only will the butterflies and hummingbirds love it so will honey bees and bumble bees! I love the idea and can’t wait to see how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

