Round Up Beef Chuck Steak

This recipe is special to me. When I was a preteen my grandparents were coming for a visit and my mom found this recipe in the newspaper. She gave it to me and I made it for my grandparents. It was the first time I had ever prepared a piece of meat other than hamburger and the large chuck steak was overwhelming for me. I prepared the meat and my grandfather loved it, asking me how I made it and appeared quite impressed with my culinary skills.  I have held on to this recipe for 27 years. This week I am passing it on to my son for him to prepare.

Ingredients:
2 lb. beef chuck shoulder steak, 2-inches thick
1 tablespoon olive oil
Rub Mix:
2 fresh Poblano, Anaheim or other mild chili peppers, seeded and diced
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 teaspoons oregano
2 teaspoons onion powder
2 teaspoons garlic powder
1 teaspoon rosemary
1 teaspoon fresh ground pepper
Marinade:
1 cup ketchup
1 cup white wine or sherry
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon brown sugar

1. Mix the rub mixture together with a small food chopper or mortar and pestle until well mixed. Rub this mixture in to the steak on all surfaces. Let stand in fridge 20-30 minutes while preparing the marinade.

2. Blend together ketchup, wine, soy sauce, and brown sugar. Place ½ of this mixture in a Ziploc bag and reserve the other half for later use. Add the steak to the bag and marinate 12 hours or overnight in the refrigerator.

3. When ready to cook, remove meat from bag and pat dry with a paper towel. Heat oven to 325°. While oven is heating, brown the steak in the oil in a hot oven-proof skillet.

4. After steak is brown, place in oven 30-40 minutes, depending on desired doneness.

5. Remove from oven and let rest 15 minutes. Make sauce be heating pan juices with reserved marinade. Slice steak into thick slices and serve with sauce.

Serve with asparagus or salad, and roasted baby red potatoes.

Leave a Reply

