Beef Stew

6-8 Servings
No story here, just the typical beef stew I have made since I received my first Crock-Pot on Christmas Day 19 years ago. A family favorite.

I do not add potatoes to my stew while it is cooking, because I like to freeze leftovers and the potatoes do not freeze well. Therefore, 1 hour before serving I boil cut up potatoes. When it is time to serve I spoon a few into the bowls, then ladle the beef mixture over them.

Ingredients:
2 lbs. beef stew meat
½ c. flour
3 Tbsp. Crisco
1 clove garlic
1 med. onion
3 stalks celery
4 carrots
2 bay leaves
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon black pepper
½ teaspoon paprika
⅛ teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
2 cups beef broth
1 beer or 1½ cup red wine
Preparation
1. Pour flour in a paper or plastic zip bag. Add meat pieces and shake in flour. Melt shortening in a heavy skillet. Add beef to skillet and sauté until evenly browned. Transfer to slow cooker.
2. Deglaze the skillet with the broth and beer or wine, pour over beef in slow cooker.
3. Cover and cook on High 4-5 hours or Low 8 hours.

Leave a Reply

