Wednesday Night

Tonight’s meal was: Philly Chicken Sandwiches with Mac-and-Cheese-Style Cauliflower.  Both recipes needed some revision as I looked at them closer and began preparation.

First of all, I did not have rotisserie chicken and didn’t want to stop at the store on my way home from work today to get one. Planning ahead for that, last night I precooked 2 pounds of boneless, skinless chicken breasts. I arranged the chicken breasts on a foil lined jelly roll (15- x 11- x 1-inch) pan, sprinkled them with garlic powder, salt, and pepper and baked them at 350° for about 40 minutes. I removed them from the oven and shredded them with 2 forks. I ended up with 6 cups of chicken so I froze them in 2 cup increments in quart size freezer bags for future recipes.  Full recipe

I also didn’t want to wash a steamer basket and pot, so I roasted the cauliflower in the same pan I baked it in. I also decreased the amount of milk, because comments from the original recipe (from Vegetarian Times website) said the sauce was too watery. The recipe has been adapted to the change. However, if you want the original recipe follow the link at the bottom of the page. I did not like the cauliflower recipe; the word “gross” comes to mind. To be honest I am not a big fan of cheese with my vegetables in the first place, but I think the edition of nutritional yeast to the cheese sauce make it taste extra gross. Next time I will stick with roasted cauliflower.

Leave a Reply

